RX Cartel ends Hansen qualifying run at Spa


11 May 2019

Credit: World RX Media

The RX Cartel duo of Andreas Bakkerud and Liam Doran ended Timmy and Kevin Hansen’s unbeaten run in qualifying this year at World Rallycross made its debut at Spa-Francorchamps.

Bakkerud topped Q1 after taking a comfortable victory in his heat race ahead of Timu Timerzyanov. Overall he beat Anton Marklund, Krisztian Szabo, and Timo Scheider to the top spot, with Joni Wiman rounding out the top five in what was his first top-level rallycross start since the 2016 Global Rallycross season finale. He is also driving one of two GRX Hyundai entries this weekend with Niclas Gronholm sidelined with appendicitis

In Q2 it was Doran who prevailed, again beating Timerzyanov on the track, with Janis Baumanis, Cyril Raymond, Wiman, and Scheider in the top five. Bakkerud finished Q2 as the ninth fastest driver, behind Timerzyanov, Guerlain Chicherit, and championship leader Kevin Hansen. He finished his Q1 heat in fourth, but comfortably set a top-10 time despite the result.

Timmy Hansen meanwhile won his Q1 heat, but a close battle with Doran cost both time, meaning that Hansen could only manage the sixth fastest time in the frist part of qualifying. His Q2 heat was even tougher, with Doran, Timerzyanov, and his brother Kevin all beating him.

The results mean that Doran, who took seventh Q1, heads into Sunday as provisional top qualifier, with Bakkerud in second. Wiman’s impressive performance on his return means that he currently sits in third, ahead of Scheider and Szabo.

Baumanis currently holds sixth spot, with Raymond seventh and Timerzyanov eighth. Anton Marklund and Barcelona winner Timmy Hansen complete the top 10, while Kevin Hansen and Mattias Ekstrom – who is making a one-off return for this weekend – hold the last two transfer spots.

Currently missing out on semi-final spots are Guerlain Chicherit, who is currently 13th, Guillame De Ridder, Oliver Bennett, and Francois Duval who is replacing Rokas Baciuska in the ES Motorsport Skoda Fabia this weekend.

Credit: World RX Media

World RX of Benelux qualifying standings (after day 1)

Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4
1. Liam Doran 37 50 87
2. Andreas Bakkerud 50 35 85
3. Joni Wiman 39 40 79
4. Timo Scheider 40 39 79
5. Krisztián Szabo 42 33 75
6. Janis Baumanis 29 45 74
7. Cyril Raymond 32 42 74
8. Timur Timerzyanov 36 38 74
9. Anton Marklund 45 29 74
10. Timmy Hansen 38 34 72
11. Kevin Hansen 34 36 70
12. Mattias Ekstrom 35 32 67
13. Guerlain Chicherit 26 37 63
14. Guillaume De Ridder 30 31 61
15. Oliver Bennett 31 30 61
16. Francois Duval 33 25 58
17. Pal Ttry 28 28 56
18. Enzo Ide 24 27 51
19. Herve Knapick 25 26 51
20. Gregoire Demoustier 27 23 50