Patrik Sandell tops Nitro Rallycross qualifying

Nitro Rallycross

16 Aug 2019

    Credit: Matt Stryker/Subaru Motorsports USA

Patrik Sandell topped qualifying as the Nitro Rallycross event at this year’s Nitro World Games got underway in Utah.

The Swede’s time of 1m00.74s was more than three tenths faster than Steve Arpin in his Loenbro Motorsports Ford Fiesta ST.

Due to the unique format of Nitro Rallycross, the top two drivers after qualifying and both rounds of heats in Saturday will get automatic spots in the final.

Kevin Hansen was third fastest, ahead of event pioneer Travis Pastrana and Chris Atkinson.

Ken Block was sixth, ahead of 2018 Nitro Rallycross winner Timmy Hansen, with Volkswagen runners Tanner Foust and Cabot Bigham completing the field.