Patrik Sandell secures Nitro Rallycross final spot with fantastic Friday showing

Nitro Rallycross

17 Aug 2019

Credit: Dominik Wilde

Patrik Sandell carried his strong qualifying form into the first two rounds of heats for Nitro Rallycross to end the first day of running at the top of the points table.

The Subaru driver equalled the time points score of Kevin Hansen over the three rounds of qualifying and both heats, but took the tie-breaker by virtue of his stronger qualifying result.

By finishing in the top-two, both Sandell and Hansen automatically qualify for final and have the option to skip the heat and LCQ races on Saturday.

Travis Pastrana ended Saturday third overall, one point off the top-two and equal on points with 2018 Nitro Rallycross winner Timmy Hansen.

Steve Arpin completed the top-five ahead of Loenbro Motorsports team mate Ken Block.

Tanner Foust was seventh overall, ahead of both Scott Speed and Chris Atkinson who both had to miss the second round of heats due to their own issues.

Chris Atkinson had an engine problem during his Heat A race, while in the same round Scott Speed carried too much speed into the final jump and landed hard on the flat. The four-time US rallycross champion was taken to hospital for precautionary checks after complaining of back pain.


Nitro Rallycross points after Day 1

Pos Driver Qualifying Heat A Heat B Total
1. Patrik Sandell 1 4 6 11
2. Kevin Hansen 3 7 1 11
3. Travis Pastrana 4 6 2 12
4. Timmy Hansen 7 2 3 12
5. Steve Arpin 2 8 4 14
6. Ken Block 6 5 5 16
7. Tanner Foust 8 1 8 17
8. Scott Speed 10 3 10 23
8. Chris Atkinson 5 10 9 24
8. Cabot Bigham 9 9 7 25


Scoring is based on race time and points are awarded based on finishing position – for example, the fastest driver gets one point, the second fastest two points, and so on. The overall standings are ranked with the lowest score at the top of the table.