10-car field confirmed for Nitro Rallycross

Nitro Rallycross

09 Aug 2019

Credit: Nitro Circus

Ten drivers have been confirmed for the second Nitro Rallycross event, taking place next weekend as part of the wider Nitro World Games action sports competition.

As with the inaugural running of the event last year, the Americas Rallycross field dominates the entry list, with championship leader Scott Speed being joined by Subaru team mates Chris Atkinson and Patrik Sandell, while event pioneer Travis Pastrana will also compete in a fourth entry for the Japanese manufacturer.

Tanner Foust will be there in the Volkswagen Beetle he has campaigned since 2014, and will be joined by Cabot Bigham who joined the field in a last-minute deal with backing from, an online engine retailer.

Also competing will be veteran Ken Block, who will be making his rallycross return driving a second Ford Fiesta alongside Steve Arpin for Loenbro Motorsports.

Finally, reigning event champion Timmy Hansen will defend his crown while his brother, World Rallycross and TitansRX points leader Kevin Hansen will be competing as well.

Timmy Hansen beat Mattias Ekstrom for the win in last year’s final – Credit: Nitro Circus

“I’m super excited, it’s the craziest race track that I’ve driven ever in any category in my life,” said 2018 winner Timmy Hansen. “Nitro is like jumping into a video game, it’s more of a circuit than you could imagine – I guess it’s only travis that could come up with an idea like that.”

“These big jumps, the combination of jumps, and the gravel banked corners gives an amazing rhythm,” he added. ” I know the jumps are extremely spectacular, they’re really scary to jump but the banked gravel corners are amazing to drive in.”

“You get so much grip in the bank, but you’re still on gravel so you’re sliding and everything, it’s just a pleasure to drive. Last year it was so exciting, I managed to win so I’m excited to go back.”

Once again drivers will be competing on a unique, specially-designed course at the Utah Motorsports Campus near Salt Lake City. The track, which features banked turns and a signature 130-foot jump across its multiple routes, has had minor revisions since the inaugural running of the event last year, but remains the same course by and large.

“It’s the most unique, exciting, fun, amazing Rallycross track ever built,” said Foust, who finished third last year. “Universally, all the drivers are saying: ‘This is the most incredible experience I’ve had in a rallycross car’.”

The signature crossover jump will once again feature – Credit: Nitro Circus

Nitro Rallycross entry list

00 Steve Arpin Ford Fiesta ST (Mk. 7)
2 Cabot Bigham Volkswagen Beetle
18 Patrik Sandell Subaru WRX STI
21 Timmy Hansen Peugeot 208
34 Tanner Foust Volkswagen Beetle
41 Scott Speed Subaru WRX STI
43 Ken Block Ford Fiesta ST (Mk.7)
55 Chris Atkinson Subaru WRX STI
71 Kevin Hansen Peugeot 208
199 Travis Pastrana Subaru WRX STI